COVID-19 Health and Safety Information

Multicultural Events

The Office of Diversity and Inclusion is proud to offer multicultural events throughout the academic year.

Contact: Christy Walker, Director of Diversity and Inclusion
cwalker2@cocc.edu or 541-383-7412.

Also see:
Latinx Featured Events | Native American Featured Events Ι Season of Nonviolence

Cultural Event Listings

More COCC events:
Student Events
Calendar Highlights

Season of Nonviolence

Central Oregon Community College is proud to announce the all-virtual programming line-up for the 13th annual Season of Nonviolence. The programming is co-presented by The Nancy R. Chandler Visiting Scholar Program of the COCC Foundation and the College's Office of Diversity and Inclusion. 

The Season was established by Arun Gandhi, Mahatma Gandhi’s grandson, as a yearly event celebrating the philosophies and lives of Mahatma Gandhi and Martin Luther King Jr. At COCC, we also honor César Chávez and Chief Wilma Mankiller. The Season of Nonviolence honors these leaders' visions for an empowered, nonviolent world. 
 


 

Addressing Racial Inequalities and Responding to Hate Speech

Join panelists in this virtual community forum as they discuss topics that include stereotypes, prejudice and privilege as well as how to respond to hate speech.

 

Recommended Anti-Racist Reading List

Central Oregon Community College believes in the power of education. So we encourage you to seek out the books in the list and learn more about the history of racism, white supremacy and the systemic impact of slavery in the United States. This list is by no means exhaustive, and is instead intended to offer an accessible introduction to these important topics.

Most of the books we recommend are available to students, faculty and staff via COCC’s Barber Library. You can also find most of these books through Deschutes Public Library, purchase them from the COCC Bookstore, or buy them from a special online store created for the College by local BIPOC-owned Paulina Springs Books in Sisters. Additional links available in the reading list pdf.

Recommended Anti-Racist Reading List (pdf)

COCC Recommended Anti Racist Reading List

 

Racism, Criminal Justice, and Becoming an Ally

Online discussion of topics regarding the current national crisis and COCC's support of diversity, equity and inclusion. Monday, June 8, 2020 at 3 p.m. on COCC's Facebook page.

Christy Walker shared this educational reading list:
Anti-Racism Education List by Victoria Alexander (pdf)

 


 

Cultural Student Club Meetings

Afro-Centric Studies Club, Contact Blakelee Evans for more information: bevans10@cocc.edu.

Asian Cultures Club, Contact Lin Hong for more information: lhong@cocc.edu.

First Nations Student Union,  Contact Michelle Cary for more information:  mcary@cocc.edu.

Jewish Student Club, contact Joshua Motenko for more information: jmotenko@cocc.edu.

Latinx Club, Contact Evelia Sandoval for more information:  esandoval@cocc.edu

LGBTQ & Friends Club Bend Campus, Contact Cat Finney for more information: cfinney@cocc.edu

German Club Bend Campus,Contact Janet Gesme for more information: jgesme@cocc.edu

ASL Lunches Bend Campus, Contact Erin Trimble for more information: etrimble@cocc.edu