COVID-19 (Coronavirus) Information: Central Oregon Community College is preparing to offer some in-person instruction and activities on all campuses this fall, along with online, remote and hybrid learning options for students. Please find COCC’s board-approved reopening plans here. Please also find: COVID-19 general college information; COVID-19 updates for students; and COVID-19 updates for employees.

Multicultural Events

The Office of Diversity and Inclusion is proud to offer multicultural events throughout the academic year.

Contact: Christy Walker, Director of Diversity and Inclusion
cwalker2@cocc.edu or 541-383-7412.

Recommended Anti-Racist Reading List

Central Oregon Community College believes in the power of education. So we encourage you to seek out the books in the list and learn more about the history of racism, white supremacy and the systemic impact of slavery in the United States. This list is by no means exhaustive, and is instead intended to offer an accessible introduction to these important topics.

Most of the books we recommend are available to students, faculty and staff via COCC’s Barber Library. You can also find most of these books through Deschutes Public Library, purchase them from the COCC Bookstore, or buy them from a special online store created for the College by local BIPOC-owned Paulina Springs Books in Sisters. Additional links available in the reading list pdf.

Recommended Anti-Racist Reading List (pdf)

COCC Recommended Anti Racist Reading List

 

Racism, Criminal Justice, and Becoming an Ally

Online discussion of topics regarding the current national crisis and COCC's support of diversity, equity and inclusion. Monday, June 8, 2020 at 3 p.m. on COCC's Facebook page.

Recording of live streamed Facebook event on June 8, 2020.

Christy Walker shared this educational reading list:
Anti-Racism Education List by Victoria Alexander (pdf)

Native American Cultural Celebration

Virtual Celebration of Native American Culture

The First Nations Student Union at Central Oregon Community College (COCC) is turning its annual "Salmon Bake" celebration into a trio of free cultural events, May 28-30, all accessed remotely.

Forgoing the popular fish feast and dancing demonstration this year due to Covid-19 concerns, the student group and the college’s Native American program are instead presenting a Native American flute concert, a traditional weaving tutorial and a storytelling event via live and prerecorded sessions.

View the Native American Cultural Celebration event details.

For more information, contact Michelle Cary, Native American program coordinator, at 541-318-3782 or mcary@cocc.edu.


 

Cultural Student Club Meetings

Afro-Centric Studies Club, Thursdays, Noon – 1 pm, Multicultural Center, 217 Coats Campus Center.  Contact Gordon Price for more information: gprice3@cocc.edu.

Asian Cultures Club, Contact Lin Hong for more information: lhong@cocc.edu.

First Nations Student Union, Bend Campus, Wednesdays at 11:30 – 12:30 pm, Multicultural Center, 217 Coats Campus Center, Bend Campus.  Contact Michelle Cary for more information:  mcary@cocc.edu.

First Nations Student Union, Madras Campus, Contact Michelle Cary for more information:  mcary@cocc.edu.

Jewish Student Club, contact Pat Givens for more information: pgivens@cocc.edu.

Latinx Club Bend Campus, Tuesdays at Noon - 1 pm, Multicultural Center, 217 Coats Campus Center.  Contact Evelia Sandoval for more information:  esandoval@cocc.edu

Latinx Club Redmond Campus, Wednesdays, Multicultural Center, Building 3. Contact Evelia Sandoval for more information:  esandoval@cocc.edu

LGBTQ & Friends Club Bend Campus, Meets every week, alternating between social meetings and organizational meetings. Contact Cat Finney and Michael Murphy for more information: cfinney@cocc.edu and mhmurphy@cocc.edu

German Club Bend Campus, Thursdays, Noon, Coats Campus Center Cafeteria. Contact Janet Gesme for more information: jgesme@cocc.edu

ASL Lunches Bend Campus, Mondays, 11:00 a.m., Coats Campus Center Cafeteria. Contact Erin Trimble for more information: etrimble@cocc.edu