COVID-19 Health and Safety Information

Fall 2019 News

Diversity and Inclusion eNews Header

Fall 2019 E-News from the Office of Diversity and Inclusion

Welcome! In this e-newsletter, you will find information on upcoming programs, workshops, other events, and cultural resources. Your input, ideas, and questions are welcome! Please contact Christy Walker, Director of Diversity and Inclusion cwalker2@cocc.edu or call 383-7412 for more information or visit our Diversity and Inclusion Webpage

Programs and Events for Fall 2019

Confronting Racism: Panel DiscussionThe COCC Jewish Students Club & Afrocentric Club Present:
Confronting Racism: Panel Discussion
Wednesday, October 16, 3 p. m., Wille Hall, COCC Bend Campus

Panelists Topics and Participants Include:

  • White Nationalist Incidents in the 2010s
    Speaker: Murray Godfrey, COCC Assistant Professor of History and Chair of World Languages and Cultures
  • Doublethink in America: A Look at How it is Used in Regards to Race and the Charlottesville Authoritarian and Counter-Protest Movements
    Speaker: Isaac Peterson, MFA, Artist and Designer.
  • The Weight of Words: White Nationalism’s Effects on Local Students
    Speaker: Kelsey Freeman, COCC Native American College Prep Coordinator


Forbidden: Undocumented and Queer in Rural America
Friday, October 18, 4 pm, Hitchcock Auditorium, Pioneer, COCC Bend Camus
Wednesday, October 23, 4 p. m., RTEC, COCC Redmond Campus

La Guitarra en Latinoamerica: Appropriations and Transformations
Thursday, October 24, 4 p.m., Wille Hall, Coats Campus Center, COCC Bend Campus
Featuring Freddy O. Vilches, Chilean Professor and Musician

Dia de los Muertos
October 31-November 2
Event dates TBD: Bend, Redmond, Prineville
For more information contact Evelia Sandoval esandoval@cocc.edu 

A Conversation with Lulu Garcia-Navarro-COCC Student Event
Monday, November 18, 12- 1 p. m., Wille Hall, Coats Campus Center, COCC Bend Campus
Please join us for an informal conversation with Lulu Garcia-Navarro. She will talk about her personal and professional journey, the current state of journalism, the deep divisions in journalism and how to use your voice to get involved. Followed by a Q & A session with Garcia-Navarro. For tickets: COCC Foundation Visiting Scholar Program or 541-383-7257

Native Flute Music with Clem Picard
Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs
November 18, 6 -7 p.m., Madras COCC Campus

Scott KalamaScott Kalama: Blue Flamez
November 22, 6 – 7 p.m., Wille Hall
Scott Kalama (Warm Spring/Nez Perce) is a Rap Hip Hop artist. Scott who performs under the name Blue Flamez, won a Native American Music Award in 2016 for his music video, Rez Life. He is nominated again this year for his video, Stand Up.


Annual Hanukkah Party and Study Break
Thursday, December 5, 4 - 6 p. m., Wickiup Hall

Cultural Student Club Meetings

Afro-Centric Studies Club, Thursdays, 12:00 – 1 p. m., Multicultural Center, 217 Coats Campus Center, Bend Campus. Contact Gordon Price for more information, gprice3@cocc.edu 

Asian Cultures Club, Contact Lin Hong for more information, lhong@cocc.edu  
Dates and times: TBD

First Nations Student Union, Bend Campus, Wednesdays, 11:30-1 p. m. Multicultural Center, 217 Coats Campus Center, Bend Campus. Contact Michelle Cary for more information: mcary@cocc.edu

First Nations Student Union, Madras Campus, Contact Michelle Cary for more information: mcary@cocc.edu

LGBTQ and Allies Club, Contact Cat Finney cfinney@cocc.edu and Michael Murphy mhmurphy@cocc.edu for more information

Historical World Cultures and Languages Club, Contact Jessica Hammerman for more information: jhammerman@cocc.edu 

Jewish Student Club, 3:30 p.m. Barber Library 111 on 11/6 and 12/4
Contact Pat Givens for more information at pgivens@cocc.edu 

Latinx Club Bend Campus, Tuesdays, 12:00 - 1 p. m., Multicultural Center, 217 Coats Campus Center, Bend Campus. Contact Evelia Sandoval for more information: esandoval@cocc.edu 

Latinx Club Redmond Campus, Wednesdays, 12:00-1 p.m., Multicultural Center, Building 3, Redmond Campus. Contact Evelia Sandoval for more information: esandoval@cocc.edu 

Dreamers Club, Contact Kelsey Freeman for more information kfreeman@cocc.edu 

Cultural Resources

"All My Relations" Podcast Each week a different podcast focusing on issues affecting Native people—from Native mascots to identity to food sovereignty.

Native Appropriations Blog by Dr. Adrienne Keene, whose research focuses specifically on access to higher-ed for Native students.

One issue facing Jewish college students is the BDS (boycott, divestment, sanctions) movement against Israel which has been in the news recently.
"Is B.D.S. Anti-Semitic? A Closer Look at the Boycott Israel Campaign"

 


COCC Diversity and Inclusion

For current information about COCC, please visit COCC Multicultural Events.

Contact Us
Christy Walker - Director of Diversity and Inclusion
216 Campus Center, Bend Campus
Central Oregon Community College
541-383-7412
cwalker2@cocc.edu 

Central Oregon Community College
2600 N.W. College Way
Bend, Oregon 97703
541-383-7700

MC eNews Footer Border - wide