MC eNews Header - wide

November 2017 E-News from the Office of Diversity and Inclusion

Welcome!
In this monthly e-newsletter, you will find information on upcoming programs, workshops, and other events. Your input, ideas, and questions are welcome! Please contact Karen Roth, Director, Diversity and Inclusion at kroth1@cocc.edu or call 383-7412 for more information or visit our webpage at: www.cocc.edu/multicultural.

Programs and Events for November 2017

Dia de los Muertos Celebrations on Three Campuses!

Day of the Crafts, Bread and Snacks
Monday, October 30, noon, Lobby, Prineville Campus
Join us as we learn about Day of the Dead and make crafts for a community altar.

Day of the Crafts, Bread and Snacks
Wednesday, November 1, 5:30pm,  Redmond Building 1, Room 105
Join us and learn more about Dia de los Muertos through crafts.

Day of the Dead Bread Making Workshop, Sugar Skull Cookie Decorating and Potluck
Thursday, November 2, 1pm, 217 Multicultural Center, Coats Campus Center, Bend
Join the Latino Club to learn more about Dia de los Muertos through crafts and making some traditional Dia de los Muertos bites.  Feel free to bring a dish to share but there will be some snacks.

Programs and Events for November 2017

Film and Discussion:  More Than a Word
Monday, Nov. 13, Noon – 1:30 pm, Madras Campus, Community Room
Thursday, Nov. 30, 3:30 – 5 pm, Bend Campus, Boyle 155
This is a remarkable film by Native brothers John and Kenn Little about the controversial use of Native Americans as sports mascots and the impact on indigenous peoples.  The film focuses on the push to rename the Washington R*dskins.  A light snack will be provided and a discussion will be held following the viewing of the film.

Film and Discussion:  The Struma
Thursday, November 2, 5 to 7 pm, COCC Barber Library
The COCC Jewish Club is hosting a screening of “The Struma,” an HBO documentary about Holocaust survivor and former Bend resident David Stoliar, who was the sole survivor of the worst civilian maritime disaster of World War II.  Eight-hundred passengers of The Struma died after the ship was torpedoed in the Black Sea in February 1942.  The victims were Jewish refugees from Romania who were escaping by boat to Palestine.  Mr. Stoliar lived in Bend until he died at age 91 in 2014.  Mr. Stoliar’s widow, Marda Stoliar, will attend the screening and answer questions.  Refreshments will be served.  The event is free and the public is welcome.  COCC history or humanities students may receive extra credit for attending.  For more information, please contact Patricia Spiegel Givens at pgivens@cocc.edu or 541-383-7561.

Annual Hanukkah Party
Thursday, December 7, 3 to 5 pm, Wickiup Hall
Stop by for delicious homemade latkes (potato pancakes) and sufganiot (doughnuts filled with raspberry jam).  Sponsored by COCC’s Jewish Club.

Cultural Student Club Meetings

Afro-Centric Studies Club, Thursdays, Noon – 1 pm, Multicultural Center, 217 Coats Campus Center, Bend Campus.  Contact Gordon Price for more information, gprice3@cocc.edu.

Asian Cultures Club, Contact Lin Hong, lhong@cocc.edu
 
First Nations Student Union, Madras Campus, Contact Michelle Cary for more information: mcary@cocc.edu.

First Nations Student Union, Bend Campus, Wednesdays, 11:30 – 12:30 pm, Multicultural Center, 217 Coats Campus Center. Contact Michelle Cary for more information:  mcary@cocc.edu .

LGBTQ and Allies Club, Fridays, 10:30 - 11:30 am, Multicultural Center, 217 Coats Campus Center, Bend Campus. Contact Chris Rubio for more information:  crubio@cocc.edu.

Jewish Student Club, contact Pat Givens for more information at pgivens@cocc.edu

Historical World Cultures and Language Club, Contact Jessica Hammerman for more information at jhammerman@cocc.edu

Latino Club Bend Campus, Tuesdays at Noon - 1 pm, Multicultural Center, 217 Campus Center, Bend Campus.  Contact Evelia Sandoval for more information:  esandoval@cocc.edu

Latino Club Redmond Campus, Wednesdays, Multicultural Center, Building 3, Redmond Campus.  Contact Evelia Sandoval for more information:  esandoval@cocc.edu


COCC Diversity and Inclusion

For current information about COCC, please visit www.cocc.edu/mcc-events.

Contact Us.
Karen Roth - Director of Diversity and Inclusion
216 Campus Center
Central Oregon Community College
2600 NW College Way
Bend, OR 97701
541-383-7412
kroth1@cocc.edu

Central Oregon Community College
2600 N.W. College Way
Bend, Oregon 97701
541-383-7700

MC eNews Footer Border - wide