COVID-19 Response and Reopening

Learning Communities

Approved: 12-14-12


The Learning Community (LC) Committee is a sub-committee of the Academic Affairs (AA) Committee and will review all new proposals and revisions for learning communities. The LC Committee will promote and support the teaching of learning communities on our campus.

Among its primary functions the Learning Community Committee will:

1. Review and make recommendations to the Vice President for Instruction for the approval of learning community applications. All new and revised learning communities will be reviewed by the LC Committee prior to instruction.

2. Maintain and facilitate documentation related to the learning communities review and support process.

3. Review each learning communities assessment of student performance outcomes as part of its evaluation of the viability of LC college offerings.

4. Work closely with the offices of the VPI and Student Services to consider issues related to the offerings of learning communities courses such as compliance with college standards, accreditation standards, fiscal efficiency, and alignment with the college mission, values, and learning outcomes.

At least one faculty member must have prior LC teaching experience, one faculty member with basic skills instructional experience, one senior faculty (Associate or Full Professor) and other faculty from different disciplines that provide cross-campus representation for the committee. Note: to establish a staggered tier in the committee terms of service, for the first elections in May 2013, two of these five faculty seats will have a 2-year term. In subsequent elections all faculty seats will have a 3-year term of service.

One of the two members will serve on an ad hoc basis as a non-voting member. Student Services members may include representation from Admissions, Advising, Student Life, Financial Aid.

Chair: Chair to be elected annually by the committee. Chair will communicate LC Committee minutes to Academic Affairs as part of AAs oversight.

For more information about this committee, see section G-6-3.1 of COCC's General Procedures Manual.

Current Members 2018-19:

Betsy Julian
VP Instruction
Term: Automatic

Bill Cravis,
Faculty Forum
Term: 2016-19

Student Services Representative
Term: 2016-19

Rebecca Franklin,
Faculty Forum
Term: 2016-19

Faculty Forum
Term: 2085-21

Chris Mills, (ad hoc, non-voting)
Student Services Representative
Term: 2016-19

Chris Rubio,
Faculty Forum
Term: 2016-19

Jon Bouknight,
Faculty Forum
Term: 2017-20

ASCOCC Representative
Term: 2018-19