COVID-19 Health and Safety Information

White Fragility Book Discussions

WHITE FRAGILITY:
Why It’s So Hard for White People to Talk About Racism

COCC and other community organizations are hosting book conversations on Dr. Robin DiAngelo’s New York Times best-selling book White Fragility. This book explores the counterproductive reactions white people have when their assumptions about race are challenged, and how these reactions maintain racial inequality.

Community book conversations will be held on multiple dates at several community locations:

COCC BEND CAMPUS
Thursdays beginning January 17, Noon to 1 p.m. Oregon Room in the Barber Library, Bend Campus 2600 NW College Way, Bend Contact Cat Finney at cfinney@cocc.edu or 541.383.7559 to register.

COCC REDMOND CAMPUS
Wednesdays beginning January 16, Noon to 1 p.m.
Multicultural Center, Redmond Campus
2030 SE College Loop, Redmond
Contact Evelia Sandoval at esandoval@cocc.edu or 541.318.3726 to register.

COCC PRINEVILLE CAMPUS
Mondays beginning January 14, Noon to 1 p.m.
Conference Room, Prineville Campus
510 SE Lynn Blvd., Prineville
Contact Christy Walker at cwalker2@cocc.edu or 541.318.3717 to register.

COCC MADRAS CAMPUS
Thursdays beginning January 24, 11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
Community Room, Madras Campus
1170 E Ashwood Road, Madras
Contact Eileen Sather at esather@cocc.edu or 541.383.7729 to register.

OSU-CASCADES
Details To Be Announced
Contact Erin Rook at erin.rook@osucascades.edu or 541.322.2044 to register.

NOT IN OUR TOWN
Tuesdays beginning January 8, 5:30 to 6:30 p.m.
Social Justice Center 155 NW Irving Ave., Bend
Contact Michael Funke at funkeredfinn24@gmail.com or 503.350.3053 to register.

TRINITY EPISCOPAL PEACE AND SOCIAL JUSTICE TEAM
Wednesdays beginning January 16, 2:30 to 4 p.m.
Trinity Episcopal Church
469 NW Wall St., Bend
Contact Betsy Warriner at betsy@betsywarriner.com to register.

 

For more information, contact:

The Office of Diversity and Inclusion
216 Coats Campus Center
Central Oregon Community College
541-383-7412

White Fragility Book Conversations