• Multicultural Events

  • Border Top Narrow
  • Multicultural Activities lists events that involve COCC and OSU-Cascades students. Please check back often as new events are added on an on-going basis. For more campus event listings visit "What's New" on the COCC Home page.

    Unless stated otherwise below, all events are free and open to the public. For more information, contact Karen Roth at 541.383.7412 or kroth1@cocc.edu.

  • Programs and Events for November/December 2017

    Dia de los Muertos Celebrations on Three Campuses!

    Day of the Crafts, Bread and Snacks
    Monday, October 30, noon, Lobby, Prineville Campus

    Join us as we learn about Day of the Dead and make crafts for a community altar.

    Day of the Crafts, Bread and Snacks
    Wednesday, November 1, 5:30pm,  Redmond Building 1, Room 105

    Join us and learn more about Dia de los Muertos through crafts. 

    Day of the Dead Bread Making Workshop, Sugar Skull Cookie Decorating and Potluck 
    Thursday, November 2, 1pm, 217 Multicultural Center, Coats Campus Center, Bend

    Join the Latino Club to learn more about Dia de los Muertos through crafts and making some traditional Dia de los Muertos bites.  Feel free to bring a dish to share but there will be some snacks.

    Film and Discussion:  The Struma
    Thursday, November 2, 5 to 7 pm, COCC Barber Library

    The COCC Jewish Club is hosting a screening of “The Struma,” an HBO documentary about Holocaust survivor and former Bend resident David Stoliar, who was the sole survivor of the worst civilian maritime disaster of World War II.  Eight-hundred passengers of The Struma died after the ship was torpedoed in the Black Sea in February 1942.  The victims were Jewish refugees from Romania who were escaping by boat to Palestine.  Mr. Stoliar lived in Bend until he died at age 91 in 2014.  Mr. Stoliar’s widow, Marda Stoliar, will attend the screening and answer questions.  Refreshments will be served.  The event is free and the public is welcome.  COCC history or humanities students may receive extra credit for attending.  For more information, please contact Patricia Spiegel Givens at pgivens@cocc.edu or 541-383-7561.

    November is Native American Heritage Month 

    Film and Discussion:  More Than a Word
    Monday, Nov. 13, Noon – 1:30 pm, Madras Campus, Community Room

    Thursday, Nov. 30, 3:30 – 5 pm, Bend Campus, Boyle 155
    This is a remarkable film by Native brothers John and Kenn Little about the controversial use of Native Americans as sports mascots and the impact on indigenous peoples.  The film focuses on the push to rename the Washington R*dskins.  A light snack will be provided and a discussion will be held following the viewing of the film.

    Transgender Awareness Day – November 21

    Annual Hanukkah Party 
    Thursday, December 7, 3 to 5 pm, Wickiup Hall.

    Stop by for delicious homemade latkes (potato pancakes) and sufganiot (doughnuts filled with raspberry jam).  Sponsored by COCC’s Jewish Club.



    Safe Zone Logo - sm

    Safe Zone Workshop for Staff/Faculty
    Date TBD 

    Safe Zone Workshop for Students
    Date TBD

    Safe Zones are confidential and safe environments for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) individuals.   This program offers education for our campus community on how to create a safer, more respectful environment for LGBTQ students and colleagues. Contact Karen Roth to register:  kroth1@cocc.edu


    Cultural Student Club Meetings

    Afrocentric Studies Club, Thursdays noon - 1 pm, Multicultural Center, 217 Coats Campus Center.  Contact Gordon Price for more information, gprice3@cocc.edu.

    Asian Cultures Club, Contact Lin Hong, lhong@cocc.edu.

    First Nations Student Union, Wednesdays, 11:30 am - 12:30 pm, Multicultural Center, 217 Coats Campus Center.  Contact Michelle Cary for more information:  mcary@cocc.edu.

    LGBTQ and Allies Club, Fridays, 10:30 - 11:30 am, Multicultural Center, 217 Coats Campus Center.  Contact Chris Rubio for more information:  crubio@cocc.edu.

    Historical World Cultures and Languages Club, contact Jessica Hammerman for more information: jhammerman@cocc.edu

    Jewish Student Club, contact Pat Givens for more information at pgivens@cocc.edu

    Latino Club Bend Campus, Tuesdays, Noon - 1 pm, Multicultural Center, 217 Coats Campus Center.  Contact Evelia Sandoval for more information:  esandoval@cocc.edu

    Latino Club Redmond Campus, contact Evelia Sandoval for more information:  esandoval@cocc.edu


  • All Cultural Events


In this Section