Safety Committee

Approved: 05/17/2011

Charge:

Central Oregon Community College is committed to creating a healthy and safe working environment for its students, staff, employees and guests. The College demonstrates this commitment, in part, through the work of the Safety Committee. The Committee meets monthly to discuss potential health and safety issues, recommend improvements to policies and procedures, conduct quarterly safety inspections and to increase safety awareness on campus. Additionally, the Safety Committee will assist in monitoring, improving, and maintaining job site safety and occupational health as mandated by OSHA regulations.

For more information about this committee, see section G-6-8.3 of COCC's General Procedures Manual.

Current Members 2022-23:

Sofia Stranieri
Presidential Appointment
Term: 2022-24
sstranieri@cocc.edu 
541-383-7227

Sam Johnson
Presidential Appointment
Term: 2022-24
sjohnson32@cocc.edu 
541-383-7274

Ricky Virk
Faculty Senate
Term: 2021-23
rvirk@cocc.edu
541-318-3740

Julie Borshell
Classified Representative
Term: 2022-24
jborshell@cocc.edu
541-383-7231

Roger Thorsvold
Campus Safety
Term: Automatic
rthorsvold@cocc.edu
541-317-3065

Layla Solar
Presidential Appointment
Term: 2021-23
lsolar@cocc.edu
541-383-7255

Amy Shapen
Faculty Senate
Term: 2022-24
ashapen@cocc.edu 

TBD
Faculty Senate
Term: 2022-24


Anna Mewes
Classified Representative
Term: 2022-24
 amewes@cocc.edu 
541-550-4110

TBD
Campus Safety
Term: Automatic


Amy Ward
Presidential Appointment
Term: 2022-24
acward@cocc.edu 
541-504-2902

Melinda Gesuale
Faculty Senate
Term: 2021-23
mgesuale@cocc.edu
541-383-7265

Drew Fegette
Classified Representative
Term: 2021-23
afegette@cocc.edu  
541-383-7719

Tracy Crockett
Classified Representative
Term: 2022-24
tcrockett@cocc.edu 
541-447-6265