Sustainability Committee

Approved: 11/17/11

Charge:

The Committee will inspire and encourage COCC students, faculty, and staff to embrace sustainable practices at COCC. The Committee has a balanced responsibility: 1. To facilitate integration of sustainability issues, science, socio/political debate and related elements into the instructional curriculum; 2. To foster institutional operations which are environmentally sensitive and model sustainable practices; 3. To integrate sustainability practices in a ways which are cost effective and make institutional operations simpler rather than more complex. The Committee will model good practices and educate the College community to promote sustainability. The Committee will also consider thoughtful operational systems and procedures that foster movement of the College and community toward a sustainable society. The committee will not force or mandate, as such mandates weaken an organizational understanding of sustainability practices presently and in the future.

This Committee Charter recognizes that actions and projects supported by the Sustainability Committee will be assessed in an effort to demonstrate outcomes (Student Learning Outcomes and Institutional Outcomes) and also to evaluate such initiatives in light of institutional capacity. One goal is to demonstrate that through good sustainable education and conservation, significant monetary savings for the College can result.

For more information about this committee, see section G-6-8.XX of COCC's General Procedures Manual.

Current Members 2013-14:

COCC Sustainability Mark - Web

COCC Sustainability Mark Downloads
- Sustainability Mark 600px (jpg)
- Sustainability Mark large (pdf)

Please note: The COCC Sustainability mark is for internal use only. For items distributed off-campus please contact the College Relations Office.

Kevin Grove, Chair
Faculty Forum-TFR
Term:  2012-14
kgrove@cocc.edu 
541-383-7409

Scott Hays,
Faculty Forum (CTE)
Term:  2012-14
shays@cocc.edu
541-383-7715

Katie Graham,
Classified Rep.
Term:  2012-14
kledwards@cocc.edu
541-318-3714

Wesley Noone,
Student at Large
Term:  2013-14
ascocc@cocc.edu
541-383-7595 

Karen Roth,
Presidential Appointment
Term:  2012-14
kroth1@cocc.edu
541-383-7412

Forrest Towne,
Faculty Forum
Term:  2013-15
ftowne@cocc.edu
541-318-3769

Cheryl Pitkin,
Classified Rep.
Term:  2012-14
cpitkin@cocc.edu 
541-383-7583

Amber Ruedi,
Student at Large
Term:  2013-14
ascocc@cocc.edu
541-383-7595


Lori Willis,
Presidential Appointment
Term:  2012-14
lwillis@cocc.edu 
541-383-7572

Jean Thompson
Faculty Forum
Term:  2013-15
jthompson1@cocc.edu
541-383-7717

Deena Cook,
Classified Rep.
Term:  2012-14
dcook1@cocc.edu
541-318-3738

Joe Viola,
Director of Campus Services
Term:  Automatic Appointment
jviola@cocc.edu
541-383-7776 

In this Section