Professional Improvement Resource Team

(Revised: 5/4/10; 6/6/14)


The Professional Improvement Resource Team (PIRT) is an advisory committee for faculty who seek assistance in drafting, developing or revising their Professional Improvement Plans (PIP). The committee will also verify that the PIP is consistent with promotion expectations and needs no further review.  The committee shall publish appropriate timetables, procedures, and other material to facilitate faculty professional improvement at Central Oregon Community College. The committee is part of the approval process for sabbaticals and selects the recipients of the Faculty Achievement Awards.

For more information about this committee, see section G-6-8.6 of COCC's General Procedures Manual.

Please visit the faculty Blackboard account titled "Professional Improvement Resource Team (PIRT)" for resources, examples and forms related to Professional Improvement Plans (PIP’s) and Sabbaticals.

The Faculty Professional Improvement Resource Team is made up of six faculty members, at least two of whom must have rank of Associate Professor or higher, and the Vice President of Instruction or appointee. Four faculty vacancies will be filled by an election of tenured faculty from the Forum seeking representation from both CTE and transfer. To insure a member has recent Promotion or Tenure Committee experience, the Vice President for Instruction shall appoint one faculty member from names submitted by the Faculty Forum. Committee members may apply for sabbaticals while serving on PIRT but must recuse themselves from the selection process. Faculty committee members will serve staggered three-year terms. In the spring, the committee will elect a faculty member as chair for the following year. It shall be the chair's responsibility to call the first meeting in the fall, to prepare an agenda and to preside over all meetings.

Current Members 2015-16:

Michael Fisher,
VPI Designee,
Term:  Automatic

Jim Moodie,
Faculty Forum
Term:  2014-17

Cat Finney,
Faculty Forum
Term:  2014-17

Josh Evans 
VPI Appointment
Term:  2014-17

Jim Ellis
Faculty Forum
Term: 2013-16

Bruce Emerson,
VPI Appointment
Term:  2013-16

Michele Decker, Chair
Faculty Forum
Term:  2013-16


In this Section