My Courses List in Blackboard
Registered and Added Courses
If an instructor is using Blackboard with their courses, students are automatically enrolled (added) in to Blackboard courses four times per day (7AM, 11AM, 4PM, 8PM) based upon registration and/or once their Add paperwork is processed.
- Since some courses/instructors do not use Blackboard, all of a given students courses may not be listed in Blackboard.
- The courses do not become visible to the students until the first day of the term.
When a student drops a course they are automatically removed from the corresponding Blackboard course. However, if a student drops a course after the course drop deadline (i.e., last day to drop classes with no grade on transcript), the student will be visible to the instructor in the Grade Center. This way the rosters are consistent in the Student Information System and in Blackboard.
After you get to register for online classes at COCC, you may find that you are on the waitlist (the seats in the class are full). Students that are on the waitlist for an online course are given access to the Blackboard course starting the first day of the term.
Students (who have "seats" and waitlisted students) are added to courses in Blackboard four times a day (7AM, 11AM, 5PM, 8PM).
Students who add an online course on or after the first day of the term will not be given automatic access to the online course. Those students will need to go through the Add Class process by:
- Contacting the instructor and getting permission to add the course.
- Completing the registration process as you would to register for any course offered by COCC.
Once you are added to the class through registering for the course, you are given access to the Blackboard course (again, students are added to courses, automatically, at 7AM, 11AM, 5PM and 8PM)
If you are registered for the online course or on the waitlist and have access to the course content via Blackboard, you should complete the "Attendance Requirement" your instructor has for you and work in the course. Waitlisted students will be contacted by the instructor during the first few days of the term to inform you as to your status in the course.
Waitlisted students are automatically removed from accessing the course in Blackboard on the Sunday following the first day of the term.